Department of Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics (DoM) at Air University (AU) was established in the year 2004 under the Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences (FBAS) as a supporting department for engineering, computer sciences and business administration. The department was supposed to teach mathematics courses to undergraduate students in all three departments. The emphasis was to teach mathematics as applications which help the students to understand engineering and statistical based subjects in individual departments. The department was mainly focused on undergraduate teaching.

In the year 2008, it was felt that the department should have its own degree (BS/MS/PhD) in Mathematics. Initially the curriculum was developed for the MS in Mathematical Modeling and Scientific Computing which was launched in 2009. Later on in 2015, the department launched BS and PhD programs in mathematics and improved its MS program by including more fields of mathematics. The title of the MS program was changed to MS in Mathematics.

The minimum qualification of teaching faculty is Masters of Philosophy (M.Phil.) in Mathematics. Currently there are 10 faculty members holding PhD degrees from national and international universities.

Mission and Vision

The Department of Mathematics promotes excellence in the teaching and learning of mathematics and its applications, encourages industrial research and an appreciation of the intrinsic beauty of mathematics. To advance its mission, the DoM provides a foundation for critical thinking by developing skills in problem solving; and offers a broad selection of courses that can be tailored according to diverse students’ needs.

To be a model department focused on the solutions of real world scientific and engineering problems, meeting the criteria of the nation and enhancement and sustenance of the academic environment conducive to excellence in teaching and research.