The Faculty of Basic & Applied Sciences comprises of two departments: The Department of Mathematics and the Department of Physics. There are 35 faculty members working in these departments, many of them having Ph.D. degrees from leading universities in industrialized countries. They have specializations in topology, image processing, cryptography, numerical analysis, mathematical modeling and simulation, materials science, genetic algorithms, radiation physics and solar energy and computational fluid dynamics. Currently, the faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences offer BS, MS and Ph.D. degrees both in Mathematics and Physics.